Mining Engineering faculty, students recognized by SME

The Mining Engineering Department at Colorado School of Mines has been awarded multiple honors by the Society for Mining, Metallurgy and Exploration (SME).

Jurgen Brune, professor of practice and associate department head, is the 2018 winner of the SME Health and Safety Division Research and Education Excellence Award. The honor recognizes individuals and institutions exemplifying exceptional innovation and dedication toward advancement in technology or education for the protection and well-being of miners.

The Colorado School of Mines Student Chapter of SME won the Outstanding Student Chapter Award. Every year SME recognizes outstanding achievement at the student level by honoring its top four chapters. The overall winner receives $500, a certificate of recognition and tickets to the awards banquet at the SME annual meeting.

Brune and the student chapter will be recognized at the 2019 SME Annual Conference & Expo, hosted in Denver in February.

Priscilla Nelson, professor and department head, has also been selected as a speaker in the SME Henry Krumb Lecture Series. Launched in 1966, the lecture series aims to enhance local SME sections’ appreciation and understanding of important new methods and technologies. 

Emilie Rusch, Public Information Specialist, Communications and Marketing | 303-273-3361 |
Mark Ramirez, Managing Editor, Communications and Marketing | 303-273-3088 |

About Mines
Colorado School of Mines is a public research university focused on science and engineering, where students and faculty together address the great challenges society faces today - particularly those related to the Earth, energy and the environment.